Design Loves Dance

Henri Toulouse-Lautrec

de Jane Avril, Henri Toulouse-Lautrec 1893

Armin Hofmann

Giselle, Armin Hofmann 1959

Paula Scher

Bring in Da Noise, Bring in Da Funk, Public Theater, Paula Scher 1995

It took a long time for me to realize that in order to have a successful thesis experience I was going to have to combine my two passions: dance and design. Before I decided to shift my focus on design, I had been a dancer my whole life. Beginning classes at three, and save for a couple ‘lovers breaks’ that dance I took from each other, I still dance now—teach actually—and it is a lovely arrangement. Design, too, has always been in my life, but for the longest time I didn’t have a name for it. All I knew was that I was obsessed with letterforms, logos, loved to draw and loved to take pictures. It wasn’t until somebody pointed out that this was a reasonably rare talent that I decided to look into honing my skills and realized that these skills were called ‘graphic design’. So here I am today, graphic designer by the way of dance and in my last year as a graduate student at the Academy of Art University working on a design thesis about dance. Designers and artists have long had a love affair with dance as bodies in motion make a compelling subject. My challenge is to see how I can use functionality of design to better enhance the experience of dance, and I look forward to spending the next year figuring out how to do so.

2 comments
  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  2. Theo said:

    Nice article. Its realy good. More information help me.

Leave a Reply

